Emerging Awareness

This is the unedited version of an article published in Whole Living Journal March/April 2009

Emerging Awareness

There are rumors amongst the newagers and some on Oprah- that collectively humanity is experiencing a shift in conscious awareness. We can see it in the movies- such as the new Jim Carey “Yes Man”, 20?? “What the Bleep do We Know?”, 20?? The Secret, as well as one I just viewed entitled “Indigo”- where the main character states that her grandfather is “dimensionally challenged”.

As a collective we approach this time of change with a mix of knowledge and mysterious wonder. Not everyone will have the jarring, immediately life altering experiences shake them into awareness. I believe for most of us the change will be gradual. There will be more dreaming, clear intuition about ourselves and others, a greater perspective.

When I turned 30. I had been a professional psychic, practicing Wiccan Priestess, Buddhist initiate of Guru Dev and Reiki Master for several years. I earnestly pursued my faith, psychological practices, and healing in a quest for enlightenment.

Directly after my 30 th birthday my awareness began to shift greatly. I experienced a series of awakenings that took glorious nirvana like form. During this time I spoke in rhyme, could hear my spirit guides and astral chatter like a radio in my head, and recorded many insightful answers to life’s questions.

After I was reconnected with our consensual reality, I began to research what happened to me. Ram Dass implied in his work entitled “Be Here Now” that I had gone through awakening with “my ego on”. The books Spiritual Emergency by Groff and “The Call of Spiritual Emergence” by ___, along with the theory of Self Actualization (Maslow) brought me to a place of acceptance.

I would like to share with you a simple yet inspiring tale that I experienced during my spiritual emergence. To illustrated how the shift can be something so gradual- so personal, not realize just what is shifting.

On a cold wintry day I was sipping hot tea and looking out my sliding glass door. A lush red cardinal landed in the snow on my porch. Red feathery bird nestled into the soft blankets of white snow. I said hello to the bird, and thanked it for being there. Cardinals had become a symbol of my grandmother who had passed a couple of years prior. Evelyn Fay liked birds- but cardinals were her favorite.

The bird flew away and momentarily came back with a sprig of red berries in its beak. The bird crept down from the railing of the porch approaching the glass door and laid the berries down abruptly flying away again. A gift I thought, that bird just left me an offering. I sipped my tea and delighted in the feeling of being noticed by the bird. Yet not a moment later the bird came back in very much the same way, with another sprig of red berries, and laid them again on the spot where the previous berries were placed. I began to question what was happening, “Do you know what’s going on little bird?”. I got the very strong sense that the bird was aware of me, in fact that the bird was Gods way of showing off to me. A third time, with a third sprig the bird placed the berries in the same spot. By this time I was well aware of the bird in its role as messenger- conduit of communication between me and the All.

In those moments I felt as if I was watching, interacting, communicating with God through the experience. I felt such a personal relationship with God, as if being spoken to directly through symbols and transference. I felt great love and adoration from the universe. It reminded me of the Disney ladies that could sing with the animals of the forest.

As I have learned nature and everything around us vibrates with the essence of God. As the Gnostic Gospels of Thomas quotes Jeshua “Split a piece of wood; I am there. Lift up the stone, and you will find me there.” As well as “To enter the kingdom of heaven you must be like a child” and “The kingdom of heaven is within you.” All of these quotes were directly experienced through this simple observance. The light that is God is in everything, my childlike wonder, and the heaven I felt inside.

During writing this article the song Dear Prudence came on- “The wind is low- the birds will sing- that you are a part of everything.”

 

~ FIN ~

Leave a Reply

